Takehiro Konoe

Violin

Takehiro Konoe was born in Amsterdam in 1997. He started receiving violin lessons at the age of four from Professor Coosje Wijzenbeek. A few months later he became a member of Professor Wijzenbeek’s string ensemble “Fancy Fiddlers”, and they still perform together regularly. In 2003, he progressed from the conservatory in The Hague to the “Conservatorium van Amsterdam”, where he studied at the Sweelinck Academy for exceptionally gifted young musicians. Since September 2016, he has been studying viola with Nobuko Imai and Francien Schatborn at the Amsterdam Conservatory. In addition, he receives a scholarship from the International Academy of Music in Liechtenstein, where he participates in the intensive music weeks.

At the age of six, Takehiro Konoe and his twin sister Mayu played a duet at Theo Olof’s 80th birthday party, and in the following year, they played again as a duo with Daniel Wayenberg. Two years later they were invited to play in Monaco at Monique Collignon’s fashion show. In August 2008, Takehiro and his sister Mayu were chosen to perform at the “Prinsengracht Children’s Concert” in Amsterdam. Their performance of J. S. Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins in front of more than 3000 people was broadcast live on television. Later that year, Takehiro Konoe and his sister performed the same piece at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam with the “Nederlands Theater Orkest”, and a year later they performed there again with their “Quartet Piccolo”. In 2011, Takehiro Konoe and his sister were given the honour of playing Schumann’s Piano Quintet with Lucas Jussen at Menahem Pressler’s masterclass in the Concertgebouw. They have performed together as a piano quintet with legendary pianists, such as Menahem Pressler himself at the 125th anniversary concert of the Concertgebouw, Nino Gvetadze, and Paolo Giacometti. Takehiro Konoe has already performed in concert with the Residentie Orchester, the Sinfonietta Rotterdam and the Rubens Quartet. He was also invited to give a solo concert at the Delft Chamber Music Festival and at the Amsterdam Grachtenfestival.

Takehiro Konoe regularly performs at the FESTIVAL NEXT GENERATION Bad Ragaz in Switzerland, and is a member of the ENSEMBLE ESPERANZA, which is made up of scholarship holders from the International Academy of Music in Liechtenstein.

In May 2015, he and his sister Mayu Konoe won the 1st prize at the “Prinses Christina Concours” playing the violin. In February 2017, he was awarded the 1st prize at the “5th National Viola Competition” in Amsterdam.

Takehiro Konoe plays a copy of a Scarampella viola, with a bow made by Jan Strumphler from Vleuten, on loan to him from the Dutch Musical Instruments Foundation.

 

February 2018

Takehiro Konoe

Viola

Takehiro Konoe wurde 1997 in Amsterdam geboren. Er erhielt seinen ersten Geigenunterricht im Alter von vier Jahren bei Prof. Coosje Wijzenbeek. Ein paar Monate später wurde er Mitglied in Prof. Wijzenbeeks Streicherensemble „Fancy Fiddlers“, mit dem er regelmässig auftritt. 2003 wechselte er vom Konservatorium in Den Haag ans Konservatorium Amsterdam, wo er an der Sweelinck Academy für Hochbegabte studierte. Seit September 2016 studiert er am Konservatorium Amsterdam Viola bei Nobuko Imai und Francien Schatborn. Ausserdem ist er Stipendiat der Internationalen Musikakademie in Liechtenstein und nimmt dort regelmässig an den Intensiv-Wochen teil.

Im Alter von sechs Jahren spielten Takehiro Konoe und seine Zwillingsschwester Mayu ein Duett zu Ehren von Theo Olofs 80. Geburtstag, und im folgenden Jahr traten sie erneut als Duo zusammen mit Daniel Wayenberg auf. Zwei Jahre später wurden sie eingeladen, um bei Monique Collignons Modenschau in Monaco zu spielen. Im August 2008 wurden Takehiro Konoe und seine Schwester ausgewählt, um im Rahmen des „Kinderprinsengrachtconcert“ in Amsterdam aufzutreten. Ihre Interpretation von Johann Sebastian Bachs Doppelkonzert in d-Moll vor 3.000 Zuschauern wurde live im niederländischen Fernsehen übertragen. Im selben Jahr spielten Takehiro Konoe und seine Schwester das Werk erneut im Concertgebouw Amsterdam mit dem Nederlands Theaterorkest, und ein Jahr später traten sie dort mit ihrem „Quartet Piccolo“ auf. 2011 hatten Takehiro Konoe und seine Schwester die Ehre, im Rahmen einer Meisterklasse bei Menahem Pressler Schumanns Klavierquintett mit Lucas Jussen im Concertgebouw aufzuführen. Sie traten ausserdem als Klavierquintett gemeinsam mit legendären Pianisten auf, u. a. mit Menahem Pressler anlässlich des 125-jährigen Jubiläums des Concertgebouw Amsterdam sowie mit Nino Gvetadze und Paolo Gioacometti. Takehiro Konoe gab bereits Konzerte mit dem Residentie Orchestra, der Sinfonietta Rotterdam und dem Rubens Quartet. Zudem wurde er eingeladen, ein Solokonzert beim Delft Chamber Music Festival sowie beim Amsterdamer Grachtenfestival zu spielen.

Takehiro Konoe tritt regelmässig beim FESTIVAL NEXT GENERATION Bad Ragaz in der Schweiz auf und ist Mitglied des ENSEMBLES ESPERANZA, das aus Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten der Internationalen Musikakademie in Liechtenstein besteht.

Im Mai 2015 gewann der junge Geiger zusammen mit seiner Schwester Mayu Konoe den 1. Preis beim „Prinses Christina Concours“. Im Februar 2017 erhielt er den 1. Preis beim „5. Nationalen Viola-Wettbewerb“ in Amsterdam.

Takehiro Konoe spielt auf der Kopie einer Scarampella-Viola und mit einem Bogen von Jan Strumphler aus Vleuten, zur Verfügung gestellt von der Dutch Musical Instruments Foundation.

Februar 2018